AIM Bots – I don’t get it

AOL has introduced AIM Bots. As far as I can tell, these are instant message buddies that are more like robots and will respond when you chat to them. There are bots for all kinds of things including a Tyson PowerPlates bot that you can use to search for Tyson power-packed recipes. Oh boy, just what I always wanted. Who the hell is going to use that? There are more useful things like Moviephone for looking up movies and some sort of dating bot. Isn't this all much easier to do on a website. Do people really live in IM enough to make this useful? I don't use IM at all so maybe I am out of the loop on this one. Sorry, I just don't get it.

Leave a Reply

